SLV REC Scholarship winners announced


SAN LUIS VALLEY — For the past several years, the San Luis Valley REC has made secondary education a priority when giving back to the Valley. With more than $180,000 given in the past five years, the REC annually awards several scholarships to local students.

The board of directors announced the 2021 scholarship recipients:

  • SLV REC Adams State University Four-Year Scholarship: Desiray Tolsma, Alamosa
  • Electric Lineworker Scholarship: Abel Ojeda Jr., Sierra Grande
  • Robert Wolfe Scholarship: Gabriel Heersink, Alamosa
  • SLVREC Past Director Scholarship: Aidan McComas, Del Norte HS
  • SLVREC Past Retired GM Ray Villyard & CEO John Villyard Scholarship: Alyssa Bagwell, Centauri
  • Basin Electric Power Cooperative Scholarship: Lindsey Gammill, Creede
  • SLV REC Scholarships: Eric Lorenz, Del Norte; Sara Nehring, Monte Vista; Chloe McComas, Del Norte; Caleb Riggenbach, Monte Vista
  • Tri-State G&T Scholarships: Logan Cestone, Del Norte; Soren Bailey, Del Norte
  • REC Dependent Scholarship: Ryker Alonzo, Alamosa