Bulls have upper hand at Round-UP


ALAMOSA – It was a good weekend at the annual Alamosa Round-UP in bull riding.

At least it was for the bulls.

Of the 16 bull riders who entered this year’s rodeo, only one was able to stay on his ride.

Harrison Kalinka of Freeman, Kan., scored 84 points on Bring the Heat on Saturday.

There were no qualified rides on Friday.

In other rough stock events, Monte Downare of Hartsel won bareback riding. He scored 81 points on Miss Bay Monster on Saturday, passing Kash Martin of Lufkin, Texas, who scored 79 points on Up All Night on Friday.

In saddle bronc riding, Monte Faulkner of Los Ojos, N.M., scored 73 points on Two Pence on Friday. Beau Scarborough of Pine Bluffs, Wyo., tied that score on Third Wheel on Saturday.

There were also bareback and saddle bronc riding for those who had their permit, but not their PRCA card.

In permit bareback riding, Bob Walter of Trinidad won with a 71-point ride on Cactus Rose on Friday.

Permit saddle bronc riding was won by Kasey Rosendahl of Meeker who scored 72 points on Mexican Hat on Saturday.

Steer wrestling’s best time was recorded by Colt Honey of La Junta who had a 6.1-second run on Friday. That time was matched on Saturday with Paul Melvin of Paradise, Texas, recording the same time.

Winning tie-down roping was Chance Wall of Cheraw. He had a time of 8.4 seconds on Saturday.

In team roping, the tandem of Garrett Tonozzi of Lampasas, Texas, and Conner Herren of Crooks. S.D., were co-champions in 5.6 seconds on Saturday. They matched the same time set by Brayden and Josh Fillmore of Florence in the Friday slack.

The ladies barrel racing was won by Mackenzie McCuistion of Estes Park. She had a time of 17.33 seconds on the first ride on Friday. That time withstood the rest of Friday and all-of Saturday.

The open barrel racing was won by Gracie Wilson of Center. She had a combined time of 34.13 seconds on two rides. Her run came on Friday.

The final four mutton busters came back to compete on Friday and Saturday. The four- and five-year-olds took place on Friday.

In the four-year-old division, Reigna Honeycutt and Lacey Romero tied for first with 82 points. Honeycutt was declared the winner after a coin flip.

Hannah Romero was third with 70 points, and Gabby Salas was fourth with 69.

Among five-year-olds, Zane Canty won with 90 points, followed by Rayden Rodman with 76, and Emma Squires with 71.

The six- and seven-year-olds ran on Saturday.

Dak Crowther won the six-year-old division with 93 points, followed by Andres Mateo-Juan with 88 and Brandie McColm with 87 ½.

Braxson Burns won the seven-year-old division with 99 points. Brennan Coleman was next with 97 ¼, followed by Zane Lopez with 97 and Ezekiel Murray with 90.


There was a mistake on one of the mutton bustin’ photos on Saturday.

The photo in the seven-year-old division was of Zane Lopez and not Braxson Burns.