835 1st Avenue, Monte Vista, Colorado 81144 • Ph: (719) 852-3531 • Fax: (719) 852-3387
Current E-Edition

Front Obituaries Opinion Sports Record Calendar Letters Community Classifieds Home 

USDA declares 12 counties disaster areas to drought

Posted: Friday, Jun 21st, 2013

Washington, DC — Colorado U.S. Senator Michael Bennet last week announced the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated six Colorado counties as primary natural disaster areas and six more as contiguous disaster areas due to ongoing severe drought conditions.

The designations mean that farmers and ranchers in these counties are eligible for additional Farm Service Agency assistance.

The six Colorado counties designated as primary disaster areas include: Dolores, Hinsdale, La Plata, Montezuma, Ouray, and San Miguel.

The six Colorado counties designated as contiguous disaster areas include: Archuleta, Gunnison, Mineral, Montrose, Saguache, and San Juan.

“Despite some relief earlier this year, right now we’re seeing how quickly our weather can get hot and dry, creating hazardous fire and drought conditions,” Bennet said.

Producers in counties designated as primary or contiguous disaster areas are eligible to be considered for FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for assistance. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers and ranchers with additional information.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal